Kelly Izlar

And the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physics goes to…

Particle physicists François Englert and Peter Higgs!

According to Staffan Normark, Permanent Secretary of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, this year’s recognition concerns “something very small that makes all the difference” — the mechanism formerly known as the Higgs Boson.


Image: Maximilien Brice/CERN

Or, as they’re calling it, the Brout-Englert-Higgs (BEH) mechanism, which was independently proposed by Higgs and Englert with fellow Belgian physicists Robert Brout.  The BEH explains how fundamental particles are endowed with mass.

In July 2012, experimental physicists from the ATLAS and CMS experiments on the Large Hadron Collider at CERN verified the BEH mechanism.

Watch the Nobel announcement here.

An overview of the BEH mechanism from CERN and details about the continuing quest to further understand it here.

Watch a famous Higgs field  analogy illustrated here.

Ten things you might not know about the BEH (Higgs) here.

And – now this is awesome – A Capella Science singing “Rolling in the Higgs.”